Attention span

January 28, 2006 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

What is our information ecosystem doing to our attention span? If I have a question, I immediately spawn a Google search. I am frustrated if I don’t find the answer immediately. I was asked for the density of 85% H3PO4 today. I found it in less than 10 seconds.

McKnowledge? Are we saticficing for ease of use? I really really want to be able to spawn ghosts to track down the answers to my queries ala Accelerando, by Stross.

I am starting to think Google. When I try to remember things, I start crafting the query in my head. I’ll be darned if that doesn’t help sometimes.

Entry filed under: information literacy, KM.

More Anarchy! Comments from “The Internet in the Workplace” by Patricia Wallace

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Companion wiki

Del.icio.us tags

Feeds


