Innovation in the cloud; raining blood

July 8, 2008 at 1:18 pm 1 comment

Utility computing as described by Carr in his latest book, The Big Switch, is a compelling idea.  Software as a service in general has a lot of benefits, not the least of which, we’re already using it without permission from IT.

More and more it’s becoming clear that IT innovations…aren’t.  Your IT group is not a competative advantage.  Even if you do IT well, you’re just maybe keeping up with the biggest names in the industry.

A recent article in eWeekby Palleto talks about SaaS leader Salesforce.com looking to provide a ‘platform as a service,’ which refers to providing ‘data center and application development services, including server capacity, storage, management services and the labor that goes with it to businesses of every size.’

Interesting line “…more and more businesses will decide to stop investing in their own in-house IT infrastructures and switch to cloud computing services.”

A few excerpts from Slayer’s Raining Blood to contemplate

Return to power draws near…
Abolish the rules made of stone…
Your time slips away…
Creating my structure…
Now I shall reign in blood!

Well that’s maybe a little more violent than taking back control of my own information need be, but here’s to Innovation without Permission!

Entry filed under: feed my pet brain, web2.

GeekDad Cryptography with the kids Links from readings

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. futhermet  |  July 9, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Weird. And the more I thought of this this the stranger it seems. I am looking at externally provided Software as as Service solutions, where I can store some data, but I ulitmately can’t control it, as a way to get control BACK.

    Is it a paradox that I have more freedom to control and create structures to publish and share information *outside* a firewall than within?

    Outside the firewall I can also define the security rules on my own, so that when I publish information I know exactly who can see it (e.g. Collaboration around Google Apps). Internally, I can’t manage any security settings, and knowing your audience is not a given inside the firewall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Companion wiki

Del.icio.us tags

Feeds


