A dumb book about The Dumbest Generation

March 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm 1 comment

The Dumbest Generation, Bauerlein – I expected to read this book siding with the author, as I’ve been frustrated with the kids’ levels of math literacy lately….

I find I’m arguing with the author page-by-page now.  He’s got some good points, but he’s also missing many.  I am reminded of the load of steaming crap: Cult of the Amateur, by Keen. 

For overexcited and breathless tome on one side of the fence I guess there’s its inflammatory titled double on the other side.  We’ll see if I can get through this.

He’s mentioned several books I’ve read like Marc Prensky’s Don’t Bother me mom, I’m learning refering to him as a futurist.  I think Marc is report current events;  Kurzweil is a futurist – and Bauerlein hasn’t even touched “The Singularity” or Kurzweil’s idea of merged human-machine intelligence yet….

Entry filed under: information literacy.

We Couldn’t Say It in Print If It Wasn’t True Dumb comments from the Dumbest Generation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. futhermet  |  March 19, 2009 at 7:40 am

    And I guess I’ve proved his point, so I’ll correct my misspelling in the post title now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Companion wiki

Del.icio.us tags

Feeds


